ASEAN Ophthalmology Society (AOS) was incorporated on 2013 in Bangkok, Thailand during The Summit of Ophthalmological Societies hosted by the Royal College of Ophthalmologists of Thailand. It is consisted of 10 country members.

The Brunei Ophthalmology Society
The Cambodian Ophthalmological Society
The Indonesian Ophthalmologists Association
The Lao Society of Ophthalmological
The Malaysian Society of Ophthalmology
The Ophthalmological Society of Myanmar Medical Association
The Philippine Academy of Ophthalmology
The College of Ophthalmologists Singapore
The Royal College of Ophthalmologists of Thailand
The Vietnam Ophthalmological Society

Its objectives are to support national societies of ASEAN countries for education, research, and academic purposes. Moreover, to organize the regional congress or other conferences to uplift the ophthalmology society in the region.

A year later, with all the corporation from ASEAN members, the first AOS congress was held in Bangkok, Thailand. It was a huge success with over a thousand participants and pulled professionals, expertise, and industry fellows from all over the world into the region to build the presence of the society in ASEAN countries.

Following by its first AOS congress, the congress is biennial organized successively as listed:

  • The 2nd on 2015 Hosted by The Vietnam Ophthalmological Society, Hanoi Vietnam
  • The 3rd on 2017 Hosted by The Indonesian Ophthalmologists Association, Jakarta Indonesia
  • The 4th on 2019 Hosted by The Cambodian Ophthalmological Society, Siem Reap Cambodia
  • The 5th on 2021 Hosted by The ASEAN Ophthalmology Society, Bangkok Thailand